Describe the Sports Awards in India

Describe the sports awards in india is one of the most important topics to prepare for competitive exams. Questions from this topic are asked frequently in different type of exams.

The major awards that make up India’s National Sports Awards are the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, Arjuna Award, Dronacharya Award, and Dhyan Chand Award. These are awarded by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award (formerly known as the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna award) is India’s highest sporting honour. It is presented annually by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports to the best Indian athletes. The award honors sportspersons for their spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sport over a four-year period. The performance of the athlete during the years when the Olympic, Commonwealth and Asian Games are held is also taken into consideration.

The award consists of a medal, a certificate and cash prize. It was first introduced in 1991-92 and is named after the late Prime Minister of India, Rajiv Gandhi. The winner of the award is chosen by a selection committee, which consists of 12 members, including four Olympians, three sports journalists and experts, and one former sportsperson. The committee decides on the athlete whose performance is most impressive and inspirational.

The selection committee makes its recommendation to the Government of India, which then selects the final winner. The recommendations are submitted by the Sports Authority of India, the Indian Olympic Association, the state and UT governments, the Board of Control for Cricket in India, and all government-recognized national sports federations. All nominations are then sent to the National Anti-Doping Agency and SAI, who check them for their purported accomplishments and doping certification. Any sportsperson who has been penalized or is under investigation for the use of drugs/substances banned by the World Anti-Doping Agency is ineligible for the award.

Dronacharya Award

The Dronacharya Award is the Sports Coaching Honour of the Republic of India, and it is given to outstanding coaches for their mentoring in sports and games. It is named after the legendary warrior-coach Drona, who was the guru of the Pandava prince Arjuna in the Mahabharata. This award is given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports every year to recognise the exemplary work of coaches and their impact on sports.

The nominations for the Dronacharya Awards are accepted till the last day of April, and they are evaluated by a committee of ten members. The recommendations are then submitted to the Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports for further approval. The winners of the Dronacharya Awards receive a bronze statuette of Guru Drona, a certificate, and a ceremonial dress. There are also two slots earmarked for Lifetime Recipients, who are those that have contributed to the coaching of outstanding sportspersons over a period of 20 years or more.

The National Sports Federations recognized by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports and the Indian Olympic Association, Sports Promotion and Control Boards, and State/UT Governments may make upto two eligible coach nominations in a calendar year. The first foreign coach to win the dronacharya award was Cuban boxing coach Blas Iglesias Fernandez in 2012. He won the award for his work with PT Usha, and his mentorship helped revive boxing in the country after a bleak period.

Dhyan Chand Award

The Dhyan Chand Award is India’s highest sporting honour. It is named after hockey legend Major Dhyan Chand and is given to sportspersons who have excelled in their sport over a period of four years. The winner receives a statuette, a certificate, and financial rewards. The award was established in 2002 and is presented by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.

The Dronacharya Award honours coaches who have been instrumental in the success of sportspersons. The name derives from the Sanskrit epic Mahabharata, where Dronacharya was the guru of Kaurava and Pandava brothers. The award is named after the legendary coach and comes with a cash prize of Rs 15 lakh and a bronze statuette of Dronacharya.

Besides the major awards, the ministry of youth affairs and sports also presents the Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar to individuals and organizations who have played a role in the promotion and development of sports. The award is given in four categories and includes a citation and a trophy.

The Dronacharya Award has been awarded to 107 coaches over the years, while the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award has been given to 881 athletes and six teams. The Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy, or MAKA trophy, has been awarded to 64 universities and organizations. These awards are the most prestigious in Indian sports and have been conferred to some of the country’s best athletes, coaches, and universities.

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar

A constant in the National Sports Awards list since 2009, the Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, which translates to National Sports Promotion Award in English, is given out to organisations or corporate entities (private and public) and individuals for playing a significant role in the promotion of sports during the previous three years. Winners are awarded a trophy and citation.

This year, New Delhi-based NGO STAIRS was awarded the prestigious honor at a ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhavan. The organization was lauded for helping professional sportspersons from marginalized communities discover their untapped potential. This has helped them gain a foothold in the society and the confidence to compete and excel.

The Dronacharya Award, named after legendary athletics coach OM Nambiar, is aimed at identifying natural talent in modern competitive sports and games from remote tribal and rural areas of India and nurturing them scientifically for excellence. Wrestling coach Bhalchandra Bhaskar Bhagwat and boxing mentor Om Prakash Bharadwaj, who molded sprint queen PT Usha’s career, were among the first winners of this award.

The Dhyan Chand Award, which was introduced in 2002 and named after the hockey legend of the same name, is a lifetime achievement award for outstanding performances and contributions in sports. Olympian boxer Shahuraj Birajdar, cricketer Ashok Diwan and basketball player Deep Grace Ekka are some of the past winners of this honour.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »